Ade Adesina

Another Gorilla in the Mist. Linocut. 94cm-66cm.2012.

Friday 4th April 2014 at 1.00pm
Scott Sutherland building Lecture Theatre SB42

“My work is a visual commentary around the ideas of ecology and our ever-changing world. I am fascinated by how the human footprint is affecting our planet. Our world is full of wonderful landscapes and I wish to highlight the continual damage caused through things such as deforestation, the politics of energy consumption, and endangered wild species.

I am a traditional printmaker, painter and sculptor; I work with mostly woodcarving, linocut, etching, and oil paint. I combine my African cultural roots with my British culture, producing work that makes people reflect about themselves and their histories.

My practice is influenced by my experiences of travel and the imagery that I encounter. Recently I spent time in Italy, Nigeria, Scottish Islands and Germany, immersing myself in different cultures and collecting a variety of imagery to use in my next body of work. I enjoy researching and visualising the differences between countries both historically and culturally. My ideas come from the new places I’ve visited and I source information from television documentaries and current affairs”.

see more of Ade’s work at – http://www.adeadesina.com

About callumkellie

I am an artist living and working in Aberdeen, I ride bikes and like to write about it sometimes.

Leave a Reply

