Angela Thwaites

02

Friday 21st March 2014 at 1.00pm
Scott Sutherland building Lecture Theatre SB42

“My practice focuses on glass as an expressive medium.  I use metaphors, similes, stories and characters to generate and express ideas both in my own work as an artist and in teaching – as a way of compressing complex concepts into smaller elements or spaces.

With glass it is possible to play with perception like no other material.  To make one thing look like another in the deepest sense, not just on the surface, but in space and volume.  Added to this are the potential transparency/translucency and the strength and fragility which glass has – a direct parallel to human life – no other material available to me has these combined qualities.

Most of what I make comes under the heading of sculpture and employs many of the craft skills from a sculptural tradition – model and mould making, casting, lost wax and finishing techniques.  I am involved in passing on these skills and further developing them through research.  As a result of a research project I undertook into materials and methods for kiln casting glass, I was commissioned to write a book, Mould making for Glass, which was published in 2011 by A&C Black.”

see more of Angela’s work at – http://www.angelathwaites.com

About callumkellie

I am an artist living and working in Aberdeen, I ride bikes and like to write about it sometimes.

Leave a Reply

